Dick Couch

Dick Couch was born born in Mississippi and raised in Southern Indiana. In 1967, he graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy and served with the Navy Underwater Demolition and SEAL Teams. While with SEAL Team ONE in 1970, he led one of the only successful POW rescue operations of the Vietnam War. On release from active duty in 1972, he joined the Central Intelligence Agency where he served as a Maritime Operations Officer. He retired from the Navy Reserves in 1997 as a Captain.

In 1990, Mr. Couch began a successful writing career. He has published several fiction and non-fiction books, including:


Seal Team One (1991)
Pressure Point (1993, 2006)
Silent Descent (1994)
Rising Wind (1996)
Covert Action (2005)
The Warrior Elite: The Forging of SEAL Class 228 (2003)
The Finishing School (2005)
Down Range: Navy SEALs in the War on Terrorism (2006)
Chosen Soldier: The Making of A Special Forces Warrior (2007)
Dick Couch’s book The Finishing School is available in our store.